QR ordering systems and digital menus: providers compared
Providers differ mainly on two points: whether there is a permanently free plan, and whether guests can order themselves without the provider’s own till system. Pure menu providers are inexpensive but mostly do not state ordering by guests; till providers offer it but require their own till system. The table names the source for every detail and the date it was checked.
| MenuMonkeys | Speiso | MENURY | Yamnam | orderbird | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Permanently free plan Not a trial period but a plan with no end date. | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | not stated |
| Cheapest plan with a digital menu | €0 | €17 | €0 | €0 | not stated |
| Cheapest plan in which guests order | €39 | not stated | not stated | not stated | €39.90 |
| Languages beyond the source language Derived from the languages named on the provider’s page, excluding the source language. | 8 | 7 | 7 | 9 | not stated |
| Provider’s till system required | No | not stated | not stated | not stated | Yes |
| Receipt printing without a till system | Yes | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Source | MenuMonkeys | speiso.com | menury.com | yamnam.com | orderbird.com |
What sits behind the figures
- MenuMonkeys: Ordering through the staff app; receipt printing via a CloudPRNT printer that fetches its own jobs. A till connection is set up on request.
- Speiso: The provider states €17 a month or €149 a year, with a 14-day free trial. Ordering by guests is not stated there.
- MENURY: The provider states a permanently free basic plan, Premium at €45 a month and a language package at €15 a month. An ordering system is mentioned but not assigned to a plan.
- Yamnam: The provider states a free plan and paid plans from €9.90 to €39.90 a month, with an integrated ordering system from the Standard plan up. Whether guests order through it themselves is not stated.
- orderbird: The provider states €39.90 a month; the QR ordering system is part of orderbird PRO and additionally requires a further iPad.
All details about other providers come from their own pages, retrieved on October 15, 2026. Prices and features can change; the provider’s own page is always authoritative. Trademarks named belong to their respective owners.
What to watch when comparing
- Free is not always free: some providers mean a trial, others a plan with no end date. Only the second stays free.
- Viewing a menu and ordering from it are two things. The lowest price often covers viewing only; ordering sits in a higher plan or is absent.
- A number of languages is comparable only when it is clear whether the source language is counted. In the table below it is excluded.
- A required till system changes the sum: the monthly price comes on top of the till and often additional devices.
- What a provider’s page does not state is not automatically absent. Such fields read “not stated” here, not “no”.
When another provider is the better fit
Anyone already working with a till system and paying for its QR ordering usually has an easier time: the order lands in the existing accounting with no detour. Anyone who needs only a legible menu and no ordering will find inexpensive plans among the pure menu providers, some of them permanently free. And anyone connecting several properties with their own hotel software should check which handover that software expects before deciding.
Which QR ordering system is the cheapest?
That depends on what is needed. For a plain digital menu there are permanently free plans, among others at MenuMonkeys, MENURY and Yamnam. Once guests are to order themselves, the published prices start at around €39 a month; with a till provider, the till system and additional devices come on top.
Do I need a till system for QR ordering?
Not necessarily. At orderbird the QR ordering system is, according to the provider’s page, part of orderbird PRO and additionally requires a further iPad. At MenuMonkeys ordering runs through the staff app and optionally through a receipt printer that fetches its own jobs; a till connection is set up on request.
Why do so many fields in the table say “not stated”?
Because we enter only what the respective provider’s page states. A provider may well have a feature without naming it there. A “no” would be a claim rather than a fact — and a false statement about a competitor would be a mistake both legally and professionally.
How current are the details?
Every detail carries the date on which it was checked against its source; it sits below the table. Prices and features change, so in case of doubt the provider’s own page is always authoritative. If you find an outdated entry, do tell us.
At MenuMonkeys the ordering function starts at €39 a month with 20 QR codes; the plain menu stays free permanently, and every plan can be tried for 14 days.